Motorcycle Helmet Laws

woman holding motorcycle helmet



Whether you’re a new or veteran rider, it’s important to be familiar with motorcycle helmet laws by state. In Nebraska, for example, all motorcyclists and their passengers must wear a helmet with a chin strap secured while the bike is moving. In addition to a chin strap, the helmet must also include lining and padding that meets or exceeds federal regulations. Before you hop on your new Harley-Davidson, make sure you have the proper gear and are well acquainted with the laws, whether you’re cruising around Omaha or venturing over state lines.

What States Have Motorcycle Helmet Laws?

In addition to Nebraska, 19 states (as well as D.C., Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands) have universal helmet laws that require drivers and passengers to wear helmets:

  • Alabama
  • California
  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Oregon
  • Puerto Rico
  • Tennessee
  • Vermont
  • Virgin Islands
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia

28 States and Guam have helmet requirements for specific riders: 

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Three states have no helmet laws: Illinois, Iowa, and New Hampshire.

What Are Nebraska’s Helmet Law Penalties?

Again, Nebraska is a state with universal helmet laws. If you’re caught riding without a helmet in NE, you’ll receive a traffic citation, regardless of whether you’re over 18 years old. The fine costs $50, plus $25 for court costs. If you get into an accident while riding with no helmet, even if another driver is at fault, it’s likely you’ll receive a reduced personal injury judgement because you weren’t obeying state laws. You can avoid not only fines, but serious injury as well by simply wearing a helmet.

Frontier Harley-Davidson

Do you have more questions about motorcycle helmet laws by state? Contact us at Frontier Harley-Davidson to learn more, or visit us near Nebraska City. Learning to ride? Learn more about taking a new or skilled rider class at Harley-Davidson Riding Academy, and get more essential tips to help you ride safely on Papillion roads.

Frontier Harley-Davidson 40.814978, -96.779435.